NYSIM Steering Committee

The New York Simulation Center for the Health Sciences is governed by the NYSIM Steering Committee. The NYSIM Steering Committee is composed of two representatives from each the City University of New York (CUNY) and two representatives from the NYU Langone Medical Center (NYULMC). The Executive Director of NYSIM reports to the NYSIM Steering Committee. The NYSIM Steering Committee communicates to the two partners of the simulation center.


Bonne August, PhD
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, New York City College of Technology, CUNY

Steve Abramson, MD
Senior Vice President and Vice Dean for Education, Faculty and Academic Affairs ,NYU Langone Medical Center

Robert T. Maruca
Associate University Provost for Planning, CUNY

Kirk N. Lawson, MBA
Associate Dean, Academic Planning and Innovation, Education, Faculty and Academic Affairs, NYU School of Medicine


NYSIM Advisory Council

The NYSIM Advisory Council is a comprised of a multidisciplinary group of individuals that represent the main “users” of NYSIM. The NYSIM Advisory Council meets on a quarterly basis. This group of individuals are tasked with guiding the operations of the center to establish standards as well as policy and procedures for the center.

Name Title
Ann Feibel Assistant Dean, Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs
Andrew Rosenberg Chair, Anesthesiology
Anthony DeVito Professor, Department of Radiologic Technology Medical Imaging
Barbara Krainovich Miller Associate Dean, Academic & Clinical Affairs, Professor
Brian Kaufman Professor of Medicine, Anesthesiology & Neurosurgery
Bridget Maley Professor
Colleen Gillespie Assistant Professor of Medicine
Deborah Morris Chairperson, dept of Nursing & Allied Health
Demian Szyld Associate Medical Director, NYSIM, Assistant Professor of EM
Dorothy Wholihan Coordinator: Palliative Care Specialty Program
Erica Torres Project Associate
Everett Flannery Chairperson, Respiratory Therapy Program
Grace Ng Associate Nursing Director, NYSIM
Jacqueline Nichols Chairperson, Professor
Joanne Choi Administrative Director, NYSIM
Kathleen Karsten Director, Nursing Programs, Associate Professor
Kellie Bryant Director of Simulation Learning & Clinical Asst Professor
Kenya Harris Associate Professor, Simulation Coordinator
Kristi-Jo Tutela-Dane Administrative Director, Office of Medical Education
Leighsa Sharoff Associate Professor, Simulation Coordinator
Linda Tewksbury Director, Medical Student Education
Margaret Reilly Academic Director
Martin Dornbaum Director, Health Professions Education Center
Mary Brennan Clinical Associate Professor Coordinator, Adult and Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Program
Melvin Rosenfeld Associate Dean of Medical Education
Nelson Lewis Professor, Vice Chair Academic Affairs
Roseann Pokoluk Director, Nursing Education
Roxanne Reid Assistant Professor, Nursing
Ruth Crowe Director, Practice of Medicine Module, Assoc Dir of Advanced Clin Educator Fac Dev
Sandra Yingling Division Manager for DEQA
Sondra Zabar Interim Director, GIM, Director, PrMEIR, Director, Primary Care Residency
Sunil Gupta Dean
Thomas Riles Executive Director, NYSIM, Professor of Surgery
Tracey Wright Dean Assistant
Veronica Lerner Assistant Clinical Professor, Director of Simulation
Victoria Harnik Associate Dean, Cell Biology
William Ebenstein University Dean of Health, City University of New York